Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : I think I'm being scammed


Greyfish
08-17-2008, 01:43 PM
I recently put a domain I own up for sale and a couple days later I received the following e-mail.


Hello,
Your domain name has been found online.
Please let us know your price.
We make money on selling and buying names and sites. Now the domain business is very attractive.
Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Anthony Ogilvie
General Manager
EI LLC

So then I replied to the e-mail with my asking price, and this is the response I received.

1000. Ok.
Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name?
Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary.
Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It's very important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from independent sources I and my partners trust.
To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies.

Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and buyers:
http://domainblog.007sites.com/Archive/419685.htm

If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15% discount.
After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to obtain it) we'll continue our negotiations.
What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire transfer, PayPal.com or something else?
Hope we can come to an agreement fast.


So I checked out the blog link that he gave me (look at it for yourself), and I feel that the site is fake and simply a marketing scheme for easynamesale.com, here are my reasons.


I've never heard of this blog
This "domain blog" is hosted on by 007sites.com, a free hosting service
The page claims to be "Powered by vBulletin" but the structure and mark-up of the page are not consistent with vBulletin thread archives
Every post in the forum seems to favor easynamesale.com for domain appraisals
The root of the blog link (http://domainblog.007sites.com) is nothing, if this blog or forum is real then wheres the actual site?


I feel like I am simply being scammed into purchasing a domain appraisal from easynamesale.com, and once they get my money this "supposed buyer" will simply back out.

Eliteinvestment.net (the e-mail address the buyer contacted me from) and easynamesale.com have surprisingly identical HTML markup and structure. It appears as though my "supposed buyer" owns both of these websites. What do you think?

sstalder
08-17-2008, 07:10 PM
If you believe you are being scammed, do NOT do business with the individual. My opinion :)

Greyfish
08-17-2008, 07:29 PM
Ohhh don't worry I won't! Haha

avantguard
08-21-2008, 09:06 AM
I received the same e-mail today to my domain.


Return-Path: <gardos@toughguy.net>
X-Spam-Relay-Countries: US US
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.2.5 (2008-06-10) on xx
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.6 required=5.0 tests=BAYES_00 autolearn=ham version=3.2.5
X-Original-To: xx
Delivered-To: xx
Received: from p3smtphosting03-01.prod.phx3.secureserver.net (p3smtphosting03-01.prod.phx3.secureserver.net [208.109.80.73]) by xx (Postfix) with SMTP id 0045A4D7EC for xx; Thu, 21 Aug 2008 06:23:16 -0700 (PDT)
Received: (qmail 4376 invoked from network); 21 Aug 2008 13:23:00 -0000
Received: from p3swh060.shr.phx3.secureserver.net (HELO p3swh060.gdhosting.gdg) ([68.178.254.197]) (envelope-sender <gardos@toughguy.net>) by p3smtphosting03-01.prod.phx3.secureserver.net (qmail-ldap-1.03) with SMTP for xx; 21 Aug 2008 13:23:00 -0000
Received: from mail pickup service by p3swh060.gdhosting.gdg with Microsoft SMTPSVC; Thu, 21 Aug 2008 06:21:40 -0700
X-Mimeole: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.3790.4073
Message-Id: <P3SWH060azUSxvjPkQT0000076c@p3swh060.gdhosting.gdg>
X-Originalarrivaltime: 21 Aug 2008 13:21:40.0143 (UTC) FILETIME=[D8A1DBF0:01C90390]


Hello,

Your domain name has been found online.
ÿ
Please let us know your price.
ÿ
We make money on selling and buying names and sites. Now the domain
business is very attractive.

Looking forward to do business with you.
ÿ
Regards,
Robert Gardos
Vice President
TGS Technologies

tracknut
08-21-2008, 09:59 AM
Yes, this is a scam. I've seen this reported many times...

Dave

Greyfish
08-21-2008, 10:07 AM
Thanks tracknut, I've seen many reportings of this scam since my posting, this guy is crazy. haha