Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : contacted with this:


eval(BadCode)
11-20-2010, 09:57 PM
Can someone help explain this email I got. What my options are.


The message is encoded in base64. It appears to come from overseas.yg-networks.com, but the reverse lookup shows nothing. It doesn't look like it came from a spam MTA.
------------------------email------------------------
Dear Manager:
We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China. On November,19th,2010, We received HUADI Company's application that they are registering the name "[scrubbed]" as their Internet Trademark and "[scrubbed].cn","[scrubbed].com.cn" ,"s[scrubbed].asia"domain names etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check. According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Kind regards
Angela Zhang
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
Registration Department Manager
3002, Nanhai Building 854.Nandan Road
Xuhui District, Shanghai
Email: info@yg-networks.com

Anhui Office
Office: +86 0553 4994789
Fax: +86 0553 4994789
web: yg-networks.com
web: www.yg-networks.com
------------------------- /email -----------------------------

criterion9
11-20-2010, 10:22 PM
This same scam has been going around since they opened the .cn tld. I'd just ignore it.

eval(BadCode)
11-21-2010, 02:00 AM
Well that's good to know. I didn't want to devote more than 5 minutes to this.

Spammers :mad: not even worth attacking, tempting as it is.

What did we learn here? Put your email address in an obfuscated image.

criterion9
11-21-2010, 08:00 AM
They are also pulling the "contact" email off domain registration as well....so there isn't much to be done about them getting an email connected to the domain since it appears to be human powered.

theseoguys
11-29-2010, 09:25 AM
I got an original scam last night. Someone with my exact name died overseas, so they want to see if it was me or a relative before the estate could be distributed.