Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : bizarre spam in wwwboard?


missp
12-31-2003, 12:26 PM
I know Matt's wwwboard is not recommended, but I'd installed it for someone a while back and they're not payin' for improvements so I'm trying to keep it clean till we can actually upgrade to a new php forum set up.

Anyway I keep finding posts - spam - throughout the board. The posts themselves are stored on the server, but they do not appear in the index and I am unable to remove them from the board via the admin panel; only by manually editing the main board html page.

Just wondering if anyone know HOW these people are doing this? And if there's any tip or trick code to try to prevent it from happening?

An example of this abuse can be found at:
http://www.reality-online.com/clboard/messages/205.html
(there are about 10 consecutive entries of this post)

Thanks and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

missp
01-01-2004, 09:38 PM
I actually did a Google search for the exact subject/poster as appears on my boards, and found over 1000 results from wwwboards net-wide, even WORLD wide! Yikes.

Looks like this:

spaininpain@aol.com To: spaininpain@aol.com From: spaininpain@aol.com Subject: 1squ2pESN(B732BB50,subject)BJv 7Mdxgp58yzRBVVtd662L2YNKRDjwQtv6rps2v . - spaininpain@aol.com To: spaininpain@aol.com From: spaininpain@aol.com Subject: WFfETWu(B732BB50,name)HQduK iwljgl7URD7 cOSvQjqKaM662w8rfqeb01be L6h5QCZw0p2NtPLWjnY8 . 03:21:29 12/31/03 (0)

ray326
01-02-2004, 09:47 AM
See if any of these (http://www.google.com/search?num=20&hl=en&lr=lang_en&ie=UTF-8&oe=utf-8&c2coff=1&q=%22matt%27s+wwwboard%22+security&btnG=Google+Search) give you some ideas.