Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Ad-aware & Malwarebyte software scan says faxcool.exe is a trojan?


tomcruise3230
12-13-2011, 08:22 PM
On my win7 64-bit version, I ran free Ad-aware & Malwarebyte software and they both found one inspection which is faxcool.exe located at c:\windows\setup\scripts\faxcool.exe

However, I also have Kaspersky Internet Security 2012 and it says it isn't a malware. i also ran manually 4 other popular anti-virus and all of them said that it is not a threat.

So, which to believe? Which is true?

Steve R Jones
12-14-2011, 08:16 AM
If you google faxcool.exe, half the sites say its a valid Windows file and the other half say it's a virus and they have a tool to help remove it.

Are you getting any errors that reference the file name?

tomcruise3230
12-14-2011, 05:11 PM
If you google faxcool.exe, half the sites say its a valid Windows file and the other half say it's a virus and they have a tool to help remove it.

Are you getting any errors that reference the file name?

Do not see any error in event log.

I also uploaded the file on virustotal.com and this is the result I get:
http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/report.html?id=94a1a26f61b015c2ced2fd50bdba4070b6c9aec7d2938fbf7eb9e99960d3b7a9-1323552562

19 out of 43 says it could be a virus, spyware, malware, hacktool but I am not sure which to believe.

But, what do you think?

Steve R Jones
12-15-2011, 03:34 AM
Malwarebytes is generally very well trusted.... If you let it remove the file and your pc is running good then odds are you are good to go.

JunkMale
12-15-2011, 10:03 AM
The name of the file is inspiring confidence in me with it being called faxcool.exe. Just searching for the name faxcool will return many results with other spyware and malware and AV tools reporting it to be a hack tool so it is pretty much a good bet that it is a hack tool.