Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Is someone trying to hack me site???


Wart_Hog
07-20-2005, 05:50 AM
Hi,
I don't know if this is the right place to post this, but I know/think that PERL has something to do with the cgi-bin... Anyway, I was going through my web traffic reports when I found the following files list under the "Failures" section. Each file has exactly one request each. Is someone trying to hack me??? If so, why would these files be of benefit? Sorry if this is silly, I thought I should ask someone though...
Thanks,
-Mike

/cgi-bin/library/comments/comments.pl
/cgi-bin/cgiemail/forms/order.txt
/cgi-bin/formmail.pl
/cgi-bin/FormMail.cgi
/cgi-bin/formmail/formmail.cgi
/cgi-bin/ezformml.cgi
/src/login.php
/cgi-bin/formmail.cgi
/cgi-bin/mailform.pl
/cgi-bin/fmail.pl
/cgi-bin/BFormMail.pl

chrismartz
07-20-2005, 09:07 AM
It could be google's web bot. But unless you track ip's as well its not known

sparq
07-20-2005, 02:00 PM
Someone is looking for an open script to bounce spam off of... I wouldn't say its "hacking"

sclark
07-21-2005, 01:22 PM
Definitely sparq, they're looking for a mailform.pl to remotely send their spam. They usually use Google to find 'em, and if you're moved it or renamed it, they poke around trying to find it. Best thing to do if you're using it is to rename it entirely, and be sure to use the latest version which restricts the use to the site it resides on.

buntine
07-21-2005, 08:25 PM
Your mail server should be disallowing remote connection.

Wart_Hog
07-22-2005, 10:36 PM
Thanks for all of the info...
I knew something was going on, just not what.
I should be alright though, there is nothing in that directory.
It really spooks me when people try to do these things.

Thanks again,
-Mike