www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: CGI + Database

CGI + Database

Ok i setup a database using the instructions on htmlgoodies... now it doesnt really say how to get info on there.. i mean sure it gives variables and codes. But it deosnt say where to apply the codes. it's very simple database... first name lastname and email. Now how do i write a script to send stuff to there?
    -ZyouS
    www.zyous.com

ok sorry... bare with me i'm fairly new at all this database stuff.... Ok here is my scenario, I just learned how to make a table database (real basic) using Access (downloading SQL as we speak). Anyway, My database table consists of first_name last_name and email.. as per example of htmlgoodies database. Now the next section after making the database is inserting text into the database. How exactly do i Insert stuff into the required fields. Do i have to make an html page with certain values that tells the information where to be added into the database? My question basically is how do i send information to be collected to the database?
    -ZyouS
    www.zyous.com

First we should be clear about what language you plan on doing this in.
    for(split(//,'))*))91:+9.*4:1A1+9,1))2*:..)))2*:31.-1)4131)1))2*:3)"'))
    {for(ord){$i+=$_&7;grep(vec($s,$i++,1)=1,1..($_>>3)-4);}}print"$s\n";

Here's a sample script that will input data into a MySQL database using PHP:

PHP Code:
    <?php
    $hostname 
    "localhost";
    $db_name "name of the database";
    $db_user "your database username";
    $db_pass "your database password";

$input_fname "Dave";
    $input_lname "Clark";
    $input_email "email@mail.com";

$query "INSERT INTO name_table (firstname, lastname, email) VALUES ('$input_fname', '$input_lname', '$input_email')";

// Connect to database using variables already defined
    mysql_connect($hostname$db_user$password);
    mysql_select_db($db_name);

// Input information in variables or stop script
    $result mysql_query($query) or die("MySQL Error");

?>