www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Rusty ol' web developer returns

Rusty ol' web developer returns

Hi all,
    I have some questions for you all, allow me to give you some background here.

I had been a web developer in the past but got out of the business after the tech bubble burst in 2001. I still maintain my own site, and occasionally read up on new web dev stuff, but I really have been out of the loop professionally. Recently a company asked me to interview for a web position (strangely enough, I had applied for a different position). I would love to get back into the web business, but feel so rusty, I'm afraid I wouldn't be very efficient for a while. So I was going to start to study up ahead of time in case they do hire me. I used to build intranets and extranets for client companies so I am experienced in with HTML, ASP,VB, IIS, SQL, basic web graphics using PSP (I'm no artist). I also putt around with .NET, PHP, MySQL, C++, and Javascript. Most of my knowledge in these areas is still 2001ish.

Question one:
    I want to know what are the important skill sets now? What is the stuff a dev just can't live without now and how strong in it do you have to be?

Question two:
    I know I need to learn Photoshop and XML better. And for as much as I hate it, I need to learn Flash just so my resume wont get the round-file treatment. Most of the tutorials I have found on the web have been pretty bad (or in the case of XML, just too generic). So can you all recommend a good tutorial on these? Really, any and all good tutorials on web dev subjects you'd recommend would be appreciated. I am not above a good review of old material.

Question three: