www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Ajax - passing an argument to the callback function

Ajax - passing an argument to the callback function

Hi folk,

I'm new to Ajax and have managed to get some fairly simple things working. But I've got a question. When I set my callback function for the onreadystatechange event, is there any way that I can pass an argument to that callback function so that when it is called I can access that argument?

I can think of some workarounds to get similar behaviour, but if this is possible, it'd be the nicest way of doing things. I'm also having problems finding any good docs for the XMLHttpRequest objects - lots of tutorials and articles but no docs. Any idea where I should look?

Thank you!

Quote Originally Posted by delirium
    Hi folk,

I'm new to Ajax and have managed to get some fairly simple things working. But I've got a question. When I set my callback function for the onreadystatechange event, is there any way that I can pass an argument to that callback function so that when it is called I can access that argument?...
    Yes.

It took awhile for me to figure this out though. I came up with what I think is a pretty easy solution to the problem. Here's a chunk of code where I'm setting up the XMLHttpRequest Object
    Code:
     // ********************************************************************************************
     // **** Function that will be called to request the Record Count via the XMLHttpRequest object.
     // ****
     // **** Parameter list:
     // ****
     // ****   XMLHttpRec - XMLHttpRequest Object
     // ****   sSQLRecCnt - SQL Select Statement that returns a value for a "rec_ct" column
     // ****   ElementID  - ID of Element on screen that will be updated
     // ****   TitleURL   - Title for Hyper Link that will include the record count
     // ****   QueueURL   - URL for Hyper Link that will send user to the correct queue page