www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Appending parameters to exe downloads?

Appending parameters to exe downloads?

I'm a complete javascript novice, but I have pieced together some basic javascript that extracts the source parameters from a url when the page is loaded (using body onload=). For example:

If the page is www.mysite.com/index.htm?source=test+one+two

The parameters will be "source=test+one+two"

For links on that web page, I use something like this to append the parameters when calling that link.

<a href="index.htm" onClick="go('index.htm'); return false";>

The "go" script is rather simple:

function go(addr) {
    if (source==null){
    location.href=addr
    }
    else{
    location.href=addr+'?'+source;
    }
    }

This all works great for htm links (web pages). However, if I try to use the same onClick link with an exe file it loses the exe information:

<a href="test.exe" onClick="go('test.exe'); return false";>

In other words, my browser pop's up as usual asking whether to open or save the file, but the .exe identifier is gone. Saving the file results in a document with no file extension.

For now, I'm just using a basic link with .exe files <a href="test.exe">, but I would like to append the calling parameters to this URL too so I can track them in my access logs.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Anthony

Quote Originally Posted by awatson
    For links on that web page, I use something like this to append the parameters when calling that link.

<a href="index.htm" onClick="go('index.htm'); return false";>

The "go" script is rather simple:

function go(addr) {
    if (source==null){
    location.href=addr
    }
    else{
    location.href=addr+'?'+source;
    }
    }
    First, let's simplify your code. Use this link:

<a href="index.htm" onclick="return go(this)">

and this function:
    Code:
    function go(link) {
      if (source) link.href += '?'+source;
      return true;
    }

phpnovice,