www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: new Option('display','value') not showing markup

new Option('display','value') not showing markup

I have a webpage that needs to display a unique set of options in a dropdown based upon the country a user selects in another area of the page. The dropdown needs to be dynamic. I am using the following (in part) to load the select with options:

selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('UPS Worldwide Express(sm)','07');

I would like to replace the (sm) in the above with the ISO-8859-1 charset value of & # 8480 ;

The problem is that the ISO-8859-1 characters do not display as the superscripted Service Mark <sup>sm</sup>

I'm somewhat new to javascript and was thinking that there might be a way of concatenating to get it to work but have yet to discover how despite Googling and searching this forum. Any ideas?
    Thank you,
    Rich

Where I live, people get shot. I need to move.
    got any code?

I use a swich statement to find the country. An example for Puerto Rico is below

case "PR":
    selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('UPS Ground','03');
    selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('UPS Next Day Air ' ,'01');
    selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('UPS Next Day Air Early A.M. ','14');
    selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('UPS Second Day Air ','02');
    selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('UPS Worldwide Express(sm)','07');
    selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('UPS Worldwide Express Plus(sm)','54');
    selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('UPS Worldwide Expedited(sm)','08');
    for(var i = 0; i < selbox.options.length; i++)
    {
    if (selbox.options[i].value == chosenval)
    selbox.options[i].selected=true;
    }
    break;