www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: SendMail Script

SendMail Script

Hi,

I am new in javascripting and I am looking for a javascript that will be used to send the content of a message window with email to me. The reason for that is that I created a search engine and the result's page is a pop-up message box. On this message box I want to include a button to send the results to myself with an email.

Any suggestions?

Cheers

Javascript can't send mail, you need something server-side.
    Try PHP and the PHPMailer class.

had to pay 25$ for my CGI form mailer script. as PineSolPirate pointed out there is nothing client side, that will send an email automatically.

$25, ouch!
    Cardiff13, I recommend you find out what you have for server side scripting. If you have PHP, Perl, Python, or even Ruby I can help you write something up real quick.

Where I live, people get shot. I need to move.
    is that per month, quarter, year, 4eva?

You could get a full years hosting plan with all bells and whisltes on it for around $50...

Hey, thanks a lot for the quick responses guys.

PineSolPirate: The server supports both PHP and CGI scripting. If you could help me I will be more than grateful.

Cool. Well, first, how is the data getting sent to the content window?
    If it is coming off of a form or something we can do this is one fell swoop.
    PHP Code:
    $message "Type some of your email here then when you need a variable from the form you can stick it in like so: " $_POST['nameOfTheFormField'] . " See?";
    if(
    mail("toAddress@example.com""Subject Line"$message))
    {
      print 
    "Sweet, it sent the email!";
    }
    else
    {
      print 
    "Dangit! It didn't send the mail.";

If you want to do it in two steps (display, confirm-send) or you use the form data to fetch content from somewhere else, this'l take some tweaking.

Thenks for the quick response PineSolPirate.

The data are taken from a form and are displayed on a message box.

Code: