www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: !-- InstanceBeginEditable --

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    249

    !-- InstanceBeginEditable --

    I'm trying to edit a webpage for somone, and alot of the code apears to be commented out (but isn't). It says:

    HTML Code:
    <!-- InstanceBeginEditable -->
    and

    HTML Code:
    <!-- InstanceEndEditable -->
    And I can only edit between these lines.

    What does this mean, and why can't I edit any code?!

    How do I disable whatever this is?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    It's a template and you'll need to edit it either in "template" or "page master" mode in the original environment or you'll need to just use a text editor.
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    249
    If I edit with a text editor, is there a line that needs removed to make it behave normally when I open it again in Dreamweaver?

    I'm not sure I understand this template concept.... Can I do a 'convert to normal page' function or something?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    A year later -- I know this is an old post, but I just joined the forum after stumbling over this.

    Open the page in a text editor, such as notepad.

    There should be a line at the top, something like:

    <!-- InstanceBegin template="/Templates/TemplateName.dwt" codeOutsideHTMLIsLocked="true" -->

    Change the true to false, or if you dont want to use the template, remove the line altogether.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    249
    Hi vol7ron, and welcome!

    Thanks for your reply... I had forgotten about this one. I think I must have managed somehow, but don't remember what I did.

    I don't actually use Dreamweaver anymore... I switched to Kdevelop after switching all my computers to Linux.

    Hopefully this solution will help someone else in the future whose having the same problem.

    -N

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1
    Funny, I am dealing with the same exact problem right now. I am going to try to open the page in TextEdit (I'm on a Mac) and try the method above. I'll let you know how it goes.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles