dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Drill down list

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    21

    Drill down list

    I have managed to make a drill drop down lists using three radio buttons that coraspond in javascript

    They create outputs like this:

    file.asp?Start=1&area=0&Make=01&Model=147

    Does any one know how to make a .php file in dreamweaver that will convert this string query into a URL i.e. www.yourdomain.com/147

    I did try a .asp file but my server is linux and not windows

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Garden State
    Posts
    5,634
    you need to use apache's mod rewrite to do something like this...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    21
    Is that putting some code into a .htaccess file?

    Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    353
    Quote Originally Posted by KillCore
    I have managed to make a drill drop down lists using three radio buttons that coraspond in javascript

    They create outputs like this:

    file.asp?Start=1&area=0&Make=01&Model=147

    Does any one know how to make a .php file in dreamweaver that will convert this string query into a URL i.e. www.yourdomain.com/147

    I did try a .asp file but my server is linux and not windows
    If you made the drop down lists, why don't you just change them instead of changing everything else?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Garden State
    Posts
    5,634
    Quote Originally Posted by KillCore
    Is that putting some code into a .htaccess file?

    Any ideas?
    Part of it is, yes. But you need to make sure that mod_rewrite is installed on the server.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    353
    I did try a .asp file but my server is linux and not windows
    Apache has a module that could be activated that will allow for support of certain .asp files... It does not however offer full support of .asp

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by chazzy
    Part of it is, yes. But you need to make sure that mod_rewrite is installed on the server.
    The mod_rewrite is allready installed on my server.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by chazzy
    Part of it is, yes. But you need to make sure that mod_rewrite is installed on the server.
    now what?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    353
    Quote Originally Posted by KillCore
    now what?
    Use it to get the url the way you want it.

    http://www.yourhtmlsource.com/sitema...rewriting.html is some info about mod_rewrite..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles