www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please review http://www.buxfer.com

Please review http://www.buxfer.com

Hi All,

I am a student at Carnegie Mellon University. Together with a few friends, I have developed a website http://www.buxfer.com to help friends keep track of which other friends owe them money.

Please review the site. Please let me know if you have any other feedback.

Thanks,
    Amit

Very slow loading.....

Interesting concept. You might get more reviews if you provide a fake user and password for the reviewers to use, rather than us looking at the "Take a Tour" section.

KDLA
    FYI
    * My screen resolution is set at 1680x1050
    * I'm accessing your site through a T1 line
    * I'm probably viewing it using Firefox (unless browser is specified)

Demo accounts to try out the site

Thanks for the suggestion KDLA. I have created two demo accounts

login: demo1
    password: testtest

login: demo2
    password: testtest

on http://www.buxfer.com for people to try out the site and add transactions and such.

Thanks,
    Amit

Nice web 2.0 idea. Nice layout, smooth interface. One problem I found is paying off the debt. I couldnt find anywhere to click to say that I paid my 12.50 for the pizza. I assumed reverse held this functionality, but if so I'd change the name to paid. As with many web 2.0 ideas outside of social networks it will be interesting to see if it catches on. Personally Im gonna stick to post it notes - or better yet not lending to my friends.

Thanks for your feedback, stilltsie. Yeah, currently we have no way of marking clearly if a transaction is paid. And as you have said, reversal holds this functionality.

I would advise that you don't have all that text in one big image on the home page. I'd make all the text at the top just plain text as at the moment there's only a small Alt description for an image that conains lots of text.