www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: whats wrong with tables

Hybrid View

Post whats wrong with tables

I designed dirt4fun's layout with tables. Someone said something like tables are bad for layouts, so how do I design my site without tables??
    I am really new to web design too

Tables are not to be used for layout, as stated in the WCAG 1.0:

From the W3C WCAG 1.0 at: http://www.w3.org/TR/WCAG10/#gl-table-markup
    Tables should be used to mark up truly tabular information ("data tables"). Content developers should avoid using them to lay out pages ("layout tables"). Tables for any use also present special problems to users of screen readers (refer to checkpoint 10.3).

Some user agents allow users to navigate among table cells and access header and other table cell information. Unless marked-up properly, these tables will not provide user agents with the appropriate information. (Refer also to guideline 3.)
    [J]ona
    Visit Slightly Remarkable to see my portfolio, resumé, and consulting rates.

Section 508 (subsection 1194.22) also states:

From URI: http://www.section508.gov/index.cfm?...=Content&ID=12
    (g) Row and column headers shall be identified for data tables.

(h) Markup shall be used to associate data cells and header cells for data tables that have two or more logical levels of row or column headers.
    [J]ona

There are two ways a non-graphical browser can handle a table. The old way was to simply ignore them. Lynx uses this method. The big problem with tables and these browsers is that with the "old nav bar down the left side of the screen" design the user has to listen to a repetitive list of links at the top of every page in your site. One solution is to put the links down the right side. Another is to use a "skip navigation" link.