www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Auto form submission/search

Auto form submission/search

Hey, I'm pretty new to Javascript, just using a little bit of it where I need to in order to solve problems. I do data management, and my group is stuck using Paradox (like Access, but in the Corel WP Office suite instead, for anyone unfamiliar) instead of something more modern. Anyway, I have a server-side Paradox program that generates HTML on the fly and sends it to the client. The client puts data into the web form and submits it back to the server, which processes the request and responds, etc etc. I need some Javascript that will run as soon as the page is sent from the server to the client (I'll probably trigger it with onload). What it needs to do is this:

-Put a value into some form on a remote page (i.e. go to Google, put "crabcakes" into the search field) and submit it.
    -On the resulting page, retrieve the value in a specific field, and store it in a field of "hidden" type in a form in the client page. That value will then be returned to the server (me) when the client submits the form.

Is something like this even possible? I can split it up into more than one step if need be, I just don't know how to go about automatically submitting things like search criteria into another website. Any help would be great.

Thanks!

I'm not sure if all that is possible. In your google example you could return a form to the user which mimics the search form on Google and have the page automatically submit. But, then the real problem comes up. The user will then be presented with a google page with the search results. There is no way, that I can think, of to have those results returned back to the server because you have no control over the content that is returned to the user.

I don't know anythng about your server environment, but that is where you would need to do the call to the third part page to have the results sent back to you.