www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Show/hide Input Box

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    Show/hide Input Box

    I need to have multiple hyperlinks on a page that will show or hide a form text input box associated with each link. anyone have any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    120
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Untitled</title>
    <script>
    function showTextBox(id) {
    document.getElementById(id).style.display = "block";
    }
    function hideTextBox(id) {
    document.getElementById(id).style.display = "none";
    }
    </script>
    </head>

    <body>
    <a href="javascript:showTextBox('box01')">Show Box 1</a> - <a href="javascript:hideTextBox('box01')">Hide Box 1</a><br>
    <a href="javascript:showTextBox('box02')">Show Box 2</a> - <a href="javascript:hideTextBox('box02')">Hide Box 2</a><br>
    <a href="javascript:showTextBox('box03')">Show Box 3</a> - <a href="javascript:hideTextBox('box03')">Hide Box 3</a><br>
    <a href="javascript:showTextBox('box04')">Show Box 4</a> - <a href="javascript:hideTextBox('box04')">Hide Box 4</a><br>

    <form>
    <input type="text" name="box01" id="box01" value="Box 1" style="display:none">
    <input type="text" name="box01" id="box02" value="Box 2" style="display:none">
    <input type="text" name="box01" id="box03" value="Box 3" style="display:none">
    <input type="text" name="box01" id="box04" value="Box 4" style="display:none">
    </form>

    </body>
    </html>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,203
    Something on these lines maybe?

    PHP Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">

    function 
    show(id){
    if(
    document.getElementById(id).style.display=="none"){
    document.getElementById(id).style.display="block"
    }
    else{
    document.getElementById(id).style.display="none"
    }
    }

    </script>
    <a href="#null" onclick="show('t1')">Link 1</a> <input type="text" id="t1" style="display:none"><BR>
    <a href="#null" onclick="show('t2')">Link 2</a> <input type="text" id="t2" style="display:none"><BR>
    <a href="#null" onclick="show('t3')">Link 3</a> <input type="text" id="t3" style="display:none"><BR> 
    The Silent One

    The most dangerous thing in the world is an idea.
    The most dangerous person in the world is one with an idea

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6
    The text boxes and links will all be in there own individaul forms. will that still work? I have an ASP loop that goes through and creates all the boxes and each will need to be unique.
    Last edited by mknapp06; 12-05-2006 at 08:10 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    120
    yes, it'll work the same since the form element is being accessed by the id.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up Thank You MR.yellabuff

    Thanking you yellabuff.


    Quote Originally Posted by yellabuff View Post
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Untitled</title>
    <script>
    function showTextBox(id) {
    document.getElementById(id).style.display = "block";
    }
    function hideTextBox(id) {
    document.getElementById(id).style.display = "none";
    }
    </script>
    </head>

    <body>
    <a href="javascript:showTextBox('box01')">Show Box 1</a> - <a href="javascript:hideTextBox('box01')">Hide Box 1</a><br>
    <a href="javascript:showTextBox('box02')">Show Box 2</a> - <a href="javascript:hideTextBox('box02')">Hide Box 2</a><br>
    <a href="javascript:showTextBox('box03')">Show Box 3</a> - <a href="javascript:hideTextBox('box03')">Hide Box 3</a><br>
    <a href="javascript:showTextBox('box04')">Show Box 4</a> - <a href="javascript:hideTextBox('box04')">Hide Box 4</a><br>

    <form>
    <input type="text" name="box01" id="box01" value="Box 1" style="display:none">
    <input type="text" name="box01" id="box02" value="Box 2" style="display:none">
    <input type="text" name="box01" id="box03" value="Box 3" style="display:none">
    <input type="text" name="box01" id="box04" value="Box 4" style="display:none">
    </form>

    </body>
    </html>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    2
    yellabuff, you are right.

    Thanking you Sir.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    2,221
    What about
    Code:
    function showTextBox(id) {
    document.getElementById(id).type = "text";
    }
    function hideTextBox(id) {
    document.getElementById(id).type = "hidden";
    }
    change the type property of the input so that it is hidden or visible.
    Yes, I know I'm about as subtle as being hit by a bus..(\\.\ Aug08)
    Yep... I say it like I see it, even if it is like a baseball bat in the nutz... (\\.\ Aug08)
    I want to leave this world the same way I came into it, Screaming, Incontinent & No memory!
    I laughed that hard I burst my colostomy bag... (\\.\ May03)
    Life for some is like a car accident... Mine is like a motorway pile up...

    Problems with Vista? :: Getting Cryptic wid it. :: The 'C' word! :: Whois?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles