www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: dynamically populating dropdown lists based on selection in another dropdown

dynamically populating dropdown lists based on selection in another dropdown

Hi,

I am new to javascript and new to this site as well..I am developing a webapplication using Javascript,JSP,Servlets. I have 2 dropdown lists in my form, the first one is autopopulated on form load , I have written this code in Jsp and its working as well, but now I want that once a user selects an option from the 1stDD then immediately the 2nd DD should be populated depending on the selection made....
    The 1stDD uses a diff table and so does the 2ndDD , however their records are tied with a foreign key ..everytime the selected-option of 1stDD changes I need the 2ndDD to be auto-populated with refreshed values...how can I achieve this, any suggestions?

Thanks,

Here you go. Just copy the whole page to a new document and try it out. Basically, you just need to create a function that creates an array of what you want, then puts it in the select list. Enjoy.

Code:
    <html>

<head>
    <script language="JavaScript">
    function getOptions(beertype) {
    	var list;
    	var listValue;
    	if (beertype == "Lager") {
    		list = new Array("Budweiser","Coors","Longboard","Miller Genuine Draft","Heineken");
    		listValue = new Array("Budweiser","Coors","Longboard","Miller Genuine Draft","Heineken");
    	}
    	if (beertype == "Ale") {
    		list = new Array("Bridgeport IPA","Red Hook ESB","Alaskan Amber","Widmer Hefewiezen");
    		listValue = new Array("Bridgeport IPA","Red Hook ESB","Alaskan Amber","Widmer Hefewiezen");
    	}
    	if (beertype == "Porter") {
    		list = new Array("Black Butte","Pete's Wicked","Guiness");
    		listValue = new Array("Black Butte","Pete's Wicked","Guiness");
    	}
    	for (var i = 0; i < document.OptionMaker.BeerType.length; i++) { //Clear the 2nd menu
    		document.OptionMaker.Brand.options[i] = null;
    	}