www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Membership Database with cookies ?

Unhappy Membership Database with cookies ?

I need a great script thats easy for any lang. like (Html , CSS , JAVAscript , cgi ) that lets you sign up for a membership and once you fill out all the infomation your infomation that you want people to see or only can put will be on another page (AKA profile image , icon , name etc.) and if you want to only wiew yours you can enter a UserName and password that is stored from a cookie to check or updated you profile and i mean by easy by any lang is the best script lang. to use for it i know HTML and a little javascript i am new to CSS and CGI but i don't really want it in CGI mostly JAVAScript if you can do it please tell me or email it to me and if you don't know the script for it can you please tell wheres the best website to get it !!!!!!!!!!!
    Last edited by Kaisa; 12-23-2002 at 06:39 PM.

you're talking about the switch between static and dynamic websites, and by the sounds of it you should be looking at a language like JSP (Java script (or is it server?) pages). Alternatives are ASP (active server pages) which are based around C, and PHP (PHP HTML Pre-processing) which as far as I'm aware is it's own monster. However, just using one of these languages is only the beginning of a wonderful journey..

What you'll then need is a web server that will run these pages and scripts for you and talks to your back end databases to actively generate the content. For that you'll need to check that your web hoster lets you do it, and which ones it will let you do (depending on the server platform they usually allow different things - if it's a win 2k server then JSP and ASP are the way forward, if it's linux or unix then PHP is probably your best bet.) Most hosters let you do this, very very few let you do it for free or for as little as just running html pages.