www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: DIV Tags - The Complexities

Hybrid View

DIV Tags - The Complexities

I am currently re-designing my site to be Search Engine Friendly.

I have found that it is better for search engine spiders to crawl DIV tags than what I have which is one table with 2-3 nested tables inside.

Below is a link to the layout of what i want. The proportions are roughly right.

Check the Layout here

Obviously this will be a project in it's own right to tackle using DIV tags.

I'm not asking anyone to do this (although would be great ). I'm also fairly new to DIV tags but can easily learn, i understand how they work and can use them but not to this complexity
    I'm asking if someone can tell if I'm wasting my time and should re-consider the table but with a better code design (not layout, code design)

Cheers

This is NOT the way to move from table-less layouts. You are still THINKING tables - rigid boxes each containing a piece to be positioned accurately like a jigsaw puzzle.

The whole point of current web practices is to emphasise CONTENT - first you have content, THEN you style that content to give the visual presentation you require. No content = nothing to style = no layout. This WILL involve thinking differently, where you will be positioning logically-grouped objects such that their relationship to other objects is determined similar to stacking blocks, and their positioning and/or size is allowed to move depending on browser resolution. Gone will be the days of slicing up a photoshop graphic and rigidly reassembling the pieces on the page - there is nothing wrong with laying out a design in Photoshop, just that you will use the individual objects rather than flattening and slicing the overall image.

So first think about the content of the site, then mock up an image of how you might want that content displayed, and then we can help further.

Cheers
    Graeme