www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Recompiling code into a .dll

Recompiling code into a .dll

Hello, Asp.Net newbie here. I posted an earlier question about missing codebehind files, which I have since had answered.

I have an Aspnet 1.x website with .aspx and .dll files on the server, but not codebehind files or source code available from the previous developer.

I have used Lutz Roeder's Reflector program to decompile the .dll, and now I can see all the juicy codebehind for each of the pages of the website.

My question now is this:

I want to make some minor changes to validation code. Can I take all the VB code reconstructed by Reflector, pour it into a new Codebehind page with the changes I want to make, and recompile just that page?

This seems pretty straitforward, but I want to be sure I am not about to screw something up. Will I need to reconstruct all the VB codebehind pages for the whole site for it to recompile, or is one page ok?

Thanks!

Hi...

Reconstruction of one page is enough.
    But be sure that u recompile the whole thing.
    Njoi Coding
    Chitra Xavier Ray
    .Net Developer

Actually, nothing needs to be precompiled, if the application is just republished (as in simply the new files are on the server), it will compile at application runtime. This is if you want to get away from precompiled applications, though there will be a little performance loss, but you will not notice it except on application start since the server will be running a compiled version of your app no matter what.

Quote Originally Posted by PeOfEo
    Actually, nothing needs to be precompiled, if the application is just republished (as in simply the new files are on the server), it will compile at application runtime. This is if you want to get away from precompiled applications, though there will be a little performance loss, but you will not notice it except on application start since the server will be running a compiled version of your app no matter what.