www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: create table using javascript

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    381

    create table using javascript

    Hi Folks,

    I have the function below which creates a basic 3 row, 2 cell table. Could anyone tell me how I can create the table below, using my function?

    Thankyou

    HTML Code:
    <table width="75%" border="1">
      <tr>
        <td>&nbsp;</td>
        <td>&nbsp;</td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        <td>&nbsp;</td>
        <td rowspan="2">&nbsp;</td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        <td>&nbsp;</td>
      </tr>
    </table>
    Code:
      function start() {
            // get the reference for the body
            var body = document.getElementsByTagName("body")[0];
    
            // creates a <table> element and a <tbody> element
            var tbl     = document.createElement("table");
            var tblBody = document.createElement("tbody");
    
            // creating all cells
            for (var j = 0; j <= 2; j++) {
                // creates a table row
                var row = document.createElement("tr");
    
                for (var i = 0; i < 2; i++) {
                    // Create a <td> element and a text node, make the text
                    // node the contents of the <td>, and put the <td> at
                    // the end of the table row
    			 var cell = document.createElement("td");    
    				  var cellText = document.createTextNode("cell is row "+j+", column "+i);
    
    			
    				
    				
                  
                
                    cell.appendChild(cellText);
                    row.appendChild(cell);
                }
    
                // add the row to the end of the table body
                tblBody.appendChild(row);
            }
    
            // put the <tbody> in the <table>
            tbl.appendChild(tblBody);
            // appends <table> into <body>
            body.appendChild(tbl);
            // sets the border attribute of tbl to 2;
            tbl.setAttribute("border", "2");
        }

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    Code:
    function start(){
    var root=document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0];
    var oTab=document.createElement('table');
    oTab.style.width='75%';
    oTab.setAttribute('border','1');
    var oTbo=document.createElement('tbody');
    for(var i=0;i<3;i++){
    	var oTr=document.createElement('tr');
    	for(var j=0;j<2;j++){
    		if(i==2 && j==1){break}
    		else{
    		var oTd=document.createElement('td');
    		oTd.appendChild(document.createTextNode('\u0020'))
    		i==1&&j==1?oTd.setAttribute('rowSpan','2'):null;
    		oTr.appendChild(oTd)
    		}
    	}
    	oTbo.appendChild(oTr);
    }
    oTab.appendChild(oTbo);
    root.appendChild(oTab)
    }

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    381
    Thanks for your reply.

    Could you please tell me how this piece of code works?

    Code:
    oTd.appendChild(document.createTextNode('\u0020'))
    		i==1&&j==1?oTd.setAttribute('rowSpan','2'):null;

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1
    I am somewhat new to the nuances of javascript and I wondered what these two lines of yours, Mr. KOR, are doing?

    oTd.appendChild(document.createTextNode('\u0020'))
    i==1&&j==1?oTd.setAttribute('rowSpan','2'):null;


    especially the 2nd line. Please help me understand.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    Code:
    oTd.appendChild(document.createTextNode('\u0020'))
    '\u0020' is the unicode escape notation for the empty space (&nbsp;). In javascript the escape unicode notation is safer in case of special characters.

    Code:
    i==1&&j==1?oTd.setAttribute('rowSpan','2'):null;
    It is a ternary operator.

    condition?if_true:if_false

    The long equivalent is

    if(i==1&&j==1){
    oTd.setAttribute('rowSpan','2');
    }
    else{
    null;//do nothing
    }
    Last edited by Kor; 03-21-2007 at 04:31 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    381
    Thanks for you reply.

    However, I cannot get this code to work, no text appars in the table cell.

    Can you please help?

    Thankyou

    Code:
    		i==1&&j==1?oTd.setAttribute('rowSpan','3')&oTd.innerHTML == "text here":null;

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    381
    I've managed to get this to work but I'm using to seperate statements, can I combine them somehow?

    Code:
    			i==1&&j==1?oTd.setAttribute('rowSpan','3'):null;
    			i==1&&j==1?oTd.innerHTML = "<div id='itemdiv"+index+"'><input name='button' type='button' onclick=\"addElement("+index+",document.getElementById('itemdiv"+index+"').getElementsByTagName('select').length);\" value='Add'  class='button'><input name='button' type='button' onclick=\"removeElement("+index+");\" value='Remove' class='button'><fieldset class='top'><div class='formleft'><h4 class='header'>item1</h4></div><div class='formright'><select name='item"+index+"_1' onChange=\"getProducts(this.options[this.selectedIndex].value,'subitem"+index+"_1');\" class='itempick'><cfoutput><cfloop from='1' to='#listlen(idlist)#'index='i'><option value='#ListGetAt(idlist,i)#'>#ListGetAt(titlelist,i)#</option></cfloop></cfoutput></select></div><div id='subitem"+index+"_1' class='items'></div></fieldset ></div>":null;

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    No, don't use innerHTML in that case, it is not a standard DOM method, you may get trouble
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function start(){
    var root=document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0];
    var oTab=document.createElement('table');
    oTab.style.width='75%';
    oTab.setAttribute('border','1');
    var oTbo=document.createElement('tbody');
    for(var i=0;i<3;i++){
    	var oTr=document.createElement('tr');
    	for(var j=0;j<2;j++){
    		if(i==2 && j==1){break}
    		else{
    		var oTd=document.createElement('td');
    		if(i==1&&j==1){
    		oTd.setAttribute('rowSpan','2');
    		oTd.appendChild(document.createTextNode('another text'))
    		}
    		else{
    		oTd.appendChild(document.createTextNode('some text'))
    		}
    		oTr.appendChild(oTd)
    		}
    	}
    	oTbo.appendChild(oTr);
    }
    oTab.appendChild(oTbo);
    root.appendChild(oTab)
    }
    onload=start
    </script>
    If you need to create INPUT, use also createElement() method

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles