www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: CSS & Option Select Box

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    33

    CSS & Option Select Box

    Is there any way to style / modify a standard option select box so that it opens in its drop-down state instead of having to having to click the drop-down arrow first?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    Clicking anywhere on it should drop it down shouldn't it? At any rate CSS won't help.
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    33
    Yes, clicking anywhere does drop down the select box, however, I would like the option to have the select box open in the drop-down state without having to click anything.

    I did do some checking, and I couldn't find anything either that would allow me to do what I want using a standard option select box, so I posted here.

    Are Mozilla objects, like option select boxes, open source, and if they are, where is the source? How / can the properties of Mozilla objects be modified?

    Does anyone know of a solution or know of an open source option select box that will do what I want?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    21,654
    Either set the size attribute in the html or with JavaScript.
    At least 98% of internet users' DNA is identical to that of chimpanzees

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    33
    Thanks for your reply Fang, but I don't quite get the effect I'm looking for with the size set to more than 1.

    With the size set to more than 1, I don't get the same onmouseover effect with the select options as I do with the size set to 1.

    I know I'm being picky!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    I guess you might try using the DOM and an onload handler to send a click event to the select.
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    33
    Thanks for the suggestion, ray326, I'll look into that!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles