www.webdeveloper.com
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: HTML Form, Radio Buttons and MYSQL Value

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    hey thanx a lot, got it, my mistake

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6

    query updation

    again there is an error when i going t update an row, please show me the mistake..

    if (isset($_REQUEST['id']) && GUID::isGUID($_REQUEST['id'])){

    $queryStr2="SELECT * FROM project WHERE PROJECT_ID='".$_REQUEST['id']."'";
    $query2=mysql_query($queryStr2);
    $row=mysql_fetch_array($query2);


    $queryStr="UPDATE project SET";
    $queryStr.=" PROJECT_TITLE = '".mysql_real_escape_string($ROJECT_TITLE)."'";
    $queryStr.=",PROJECT_LOCATION = '".mysql_real_escape_string($ROJECT_LOCATION)."'";
    $queryStr.=", PROJECT_TIME_UPDATED = '".$PROJECT_TIME_UPDATED."'";
    //$queryStr.=" PROJECT_STATUS = '".mysql_real_escape_string($_REQUEST['status'])."'";
    $queryStr.=", PROJECT_STATUS = '".mysql_real_escape_string($PROJECT_STATUS)."'";
    //$queryStr.mysql_real_escape_string($PROJECT_STATUS);
    $queryStr.=" WHERE PROJECT_ID='".$_REQUEST['id']."'";

    }else{

    $queryStr="INSERT INTO project (";

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    700
    Is it inserting instead of updating, or just failing completely?
    Oh Lord, please help me be the person my dog thinks I am.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    yeh it is inserting instead of updating

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    waiting for ur reply

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6

    waiting for the reply

    waiting for the reply

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2

    Need help to retrieve radiobutton value from mysql using php

    hi, i am new to php and my sql, i want to retrieve the value of radiobutton from mysql using php and i cant figure out the problem please check my code and tell me where iam wrong and what is the right way to solve this problem, thank you

    <?php include("../includes/config.php"); ?>
    <?php
    if ($_SESSION["isadmin"])
    {

    $con=mysql_connect($dbserver,$dbusername,$dbpassword);
    if (!$con) { die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error()); }

    mysql_select_db($dbname, $con);
    $accountid=$_GET["id"];
    $result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM accounts WHERE (id='".$accountid."')");


    while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
    {
    $id=$row['id'];
    $firstname = $row['firstname'];
    $lastname = $row['lastname'];
    $email=$row['email'];
    $type=$row['type'];
    }
    mysql_close($con);
    ?>
    <!DOCTYPE HTML>
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Edit User</title>
    <link rel="StyleSheet" href="../admin/css/style.css" type="text/css" media="screen">
    </head>


    <body>
    <?php include("../admin/includes/header.php"); ?>
    <?php include("../admin/includes/nav.php"); ?>
    <?php include("../admin/includes/manage-users-aside.php"); ?>
    <div id="maincontent">

    <div id="breadcrumbs">
    <a href="">Home</a> >
    <a href="">Manage Users</a> >
    <a href="">List Users</a> >
    Edit User
    </div>
    <h2>Edit User</h2>

    <form method="post" action="users-edit-action.php">
    <input type="hidden" value="<?php echo $accountid; ?>" name="id" />
    <label>Email/Username:</label><input type="text" name="email" value="<?php echo $email; ?>" /><br /><br />
    <label>Password:</label><input type="password" name="password" value="<?php echo $password;?>" /><br /><br />
    <label>First Name:</label><input type="text" name="firstname" value="<?php echo $firstname; ?>" /><br /><br />
    <label>Last Name:</label><input type="text" name="lastname" value="<?php echo $lastname; ?>" /><br /><br />
    <label>Type:</label><br />
    <input type="radio" name="type" value="Student""<?php echo $type;?>" /> Student<br />
    <input type="radio" name="type" value="Teacher""<?php echo $type; ?>" /> Teacher<br />

    <input type="submit" value="Edit" />
    </form>



    </div>

    </body>
    <?php include("../admin/includes/footer.php"); ?>
    </html>
    <?php
    }
    else
    {
    header("Location: ".$fullpath."login/unauthorized.php");

    }
    ?>

    this is my code for editing the values in database using php.. please help

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    700
    You need to read my previous posts in this thread, as they deal with the exact issue.

    In summary, "radio buttons" are not a MySQL data type, they are an HTML construct.

    You need to evaluate " type" so that your code selects the correct radio button.

    One of your radio buttons will then look like this:
    <input type="radio" name="type" value="whatever" checked>Whatever

    The trick is to assign "checked" to the right button.

    All the help you need with this is already here in the thread.
    Oh Lord, please help me be the person my dog thinks I am.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1

    similar problem new twist

    hi

    this thread while, is a few months old, helped greatly with what i'm trying to do for class but i'm now trying to extract the value that was entered into the database from the radio buttons and place in a table
    table.png i'd like it to replace the N C D with a image but also place them in the apporpriate column as well

    below is the code for the above pic that i currently have

    any help and ideas welcome

    thanks

    daryl

    <?php
    include("../scripts/db_connect.php");

    $query ="select * from units";

    if ($result = mysql_query($query,$conn)){
    $rows= mysql_numrows($result);

    ?>

    <table width="642" border="1" cellpadding="5">
    <tr>
    <td width="82" >Unit Code</td>
    <td width="204">Unit Name</td>
    <td width="80">Next</td>
    <td width="80">Current</td>
    <td width="80">Done</td>
    </tr>

    <?php
    $i=0;
    while($i<$rows){
    $recordArray=mysql_fetch_array($result);
    echo"<tr><td>$recordArray[1]</td>
    <td>$recordArray[2]</td>
    <td>$recordArray[3]</td>
    <td>$recordArray[3]</td>
    <td>$recordArray[3]</td>
    </tr>";

    $i++;
    }
    }else{
    echo"something went wrong. MySQL reports: <b>",mysql_error(),"</b>";
    }
    ?>
    </table>
    <?php
    mysql_close($conn);
    ?>

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles