www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Style issues between Firefox, IE6 and IE7

Style issues between Firefox, IE6 and IE7

I have been beating my head against the wall for the last week trying to get the alignment issues hashed out between Firefox and IE. I started working on this site using Firefox and everything was going great. That is until I looked at it under IE.

Here is the link to the site. http://www.grdl.org/TEST/

I want to keep the spacing between #top_menu, #header, #content_outer and #footer. When viewing the site under IE the majority of the spacing between the 4 sections disappears. Also the location of the text inside #header moves.

I have been reading about the !important hack but either it is ignoring it or I'm not correcting the right lines in the CSS code. Here is a link to the current CSS code http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=ddth887t_0cddvjb

I am a newbie to HTML/CSS/PHP and I am learning as I go. The Web Developer addon for Firefox has helped me decipher some of the CSS. Too bad there isn't something like that in IE.

I'm hoping a fresh pair of eyes will be able to steer me in the right directions.

-mcvickj
    Last edited by mcvickj; 05-31-2007 at 10:19 AM.

I have found the code that I am trying to change so I can get the look to stay consistent between Firefox and IE.

} <---LN 141
    #header {
    background-color : #FFFFFF;
    height : 58px;
    background-repeat : repeat-x;
    float : left;
    background-image : url(../images/header.jpg);
    margin-top : 10px !important;
    margin-top : 20px;
    margin-bottom : 10px !important;
    margin-bottom : 20px;
    border : 1px solid #000000;
    width: 100%;
    }

} <---LN 193
    #content_outer {
    width : 100%;
    background-repeat : repeat-x;
    border : 1px solid #010101;
    background-color : #FFFFFF;
    color : #666666;
    background-image: url(../images/content_bg.gif);
    padding-bottom: 25px;
    margin-bottom: 10px !important;
    margin-bottom: 20px;
    }