www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Browser freeze when manipulating the dom?

Question Browser freeze when manipulating the dom?

Hola all,
    I'm rather new to javascript and client side stuff in general so my apologies if this has been asked and answered a million times before (I did try a search here and on google).

Basically I've got a form on which a user can either fill out everything or they can select from some stored forms that they have previously saved. If they select a stored form I iterate through the input fields in the existing form and remove them using parentelement.removeChild(this) and then add the new fields in. This works fine when the user's saved form only contains a handful of items (< 10) but when it contains 10+ items the browser freezes for 10 seconds as it adds the fields to the form. I tried adding a little loading gif while the form is being loaded but that freezes too.

My general and sadly not specific question is: Is there a way to do this more efficiently? E.g., clone the existing form, operate on the clone and then replace the existing form with the now modified clone? (I'm not even sure that would provide any benefit and I'd try it out to test it but I'm not quite certain how that would work).

Any insight is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

Everytime you make (visible) changes to the DOM the browser has to re-render the page. It shouldn't be a problem though in your case - I have never run into performance problems like that unless manipulating a huge amount of nodes. Are you sure the your code for iterating is working as it should...the problem might lie in a loop not properly consrtucted...just a guess
    #define question (2B || !2B)
    HTMLElement and W3C Event Handling in IE
    My JavaScript Library

Don't PM me about answers to questions. If I don't reply in a thread it's because:
    • You didn't read the message posting guidelines