www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: CSS Tables and DIV's and then some!

Question CSS Tables and DIV's and then some!

I've been an application developer for 10 years and I just recently got thrown a project doing front end work. Since the time i use to do front end work alot of the way tables has changed and I am not up to date. I've done alot of reading on nhw to get certain things done without using html tables and relying more on the style sheet for the UI control. I do have a few questions that I am not able to find answers online somewhere. It seems that most of it is for basic div and table stuff.

1. I need to make a table with borders. The purpose of this table to display a data result set. typically i would just define a table class and set the border to 1px but it seems that this can be accomplished without using the table tag in the css or in the html. If i were to do something as basic as this table below. how would i accomplish it with XHTML and CSS without using any table tags or the best way?

<table border="1" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="2">
    <tr>
    <th>ID</th>
    <th>NAME</th>
    <th>DATE</th>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>1</td>
    <td>John Doe</td>
    <td>01/01/2007</td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>2</td>
    <td>Jane Kim</td>
    <td>07/07/2007</td>
    </tr>
    </table>

2. I see classes like this and wondering what the meaning of it is.

#bd #main #primary div.upsell a.else{
    display:block;
    float:left;
    width:268px;
    margin-right:7px;
    height:100px;
    margin-top:-7px;
    }

what is the difference with using the "#" sign and ".className"?

Thanks for any help

1) Tabular data is what a table is for so use it for that. CSS is not a substitute for a table. It looks like what you have there should be in a table.

2) # indicates a unique name for one element on a page for styling that one element only. The dot is for classes which can be assigned to any element so all those elements receive the same styling.