www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Complex Mail Questions

Complex Mail Questions

This pertains to Features that can be made for mail systems.
    these are a list of questions i nid to know, im still a newb at this mail thing. Any information supplied will be helpful.

1. Bounces - How do you handle bounces? What Approach can one use? What does it use? and if there are any decent tutorials on handling bounces, please post a link. i searched google finding only irrelevant information.

2. HTML email - how do you make good HTML emails, Limitations and what to look out for? a link to a good article is appreciated.

3. Avoid being on the BULK/SPAM folder - i think i read something about BCC usually processed as spam, sending an email to 1000 BCCs would be considered spam?

4. Mail Sending - What is the best approach for sending out batch emails? any tutorials? can someone post a link? What's best? Sending out Mails individually or Sending it via CC or BCC, or another approach? what is their advantages and disadvantages

Im expecting NogDog & Bokeh to reply. Thanks in advance.
    All your help will be much appreciated.

I can answer the HTML question. You simply need to make sure you set the content type in the header. For example,
    PHP Code:
    // To send HTML mail, the Content-type header must be set
    $headers  'MIME-Version: 1.0' "\r\n";
    $headers .= 'Content-type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1' "\r\n"
    Another thing, which is quite obvious, is to make sure that all references to images are fully qualified.

thank you, but i was pertaining to some things to look out for on HTML email, like CSS capabalities. what to use or not. by the way, thank you again.

Bounces as in the email address not existing, the email program you write with the email address you show as the originating address in most hosts MUST exist.