www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: [RESOLVED] QuarkXpress

resolved [RESOLVED] QuarkXpress

Hi there !
    Anyone knows something about QuarkXpress ? I'm new to this program and I'm trying to work on a project which is not difficult, but I want to do it properly...
    (my question would be about sections and master pages)

Do you have to do it in Quack? - I mean Quark!

If you have access to InDesign I could help you with your masterpages and sections questions.

I have used quark, but that was a long time ago before it became obvious that InDesign was a better layout package and (almost) everyone switched over.

If only web development was as easy

Quote Originally Posted by Stevo22
    before it became obvious that InDesign was a better layout package and (almost) everyone switched over.
    Unless something has changed, Quark is still heavily used in the publishing industry, far more than InDesign. But, then again, I haven't dealt with publishing in a while.

Quote Originally Posted by drhowarddrfine
    Unless something has changed, Quark is still heavily used in the publishing industry, far more than InDesign. But, then again, I haven't dealt with publishing in a while.
    Hi drhowarddrfine, don't get me wrong, I'm not having a go at you . . .

I currently work in the printing industry as a pre-press professional and graphic designer (I'm trying to make a career change over to web development 'cause I dont think my job is going to be there in 5 years time)

This is history as I remember it:

There always has been a bit of snobbery between Quark and InDesign (prev PageMaker) users - ie. Only 'true professionals' use Quark. - IMO It's good to know how to use both!

I think you will find that InDesign took over as the leading layout package a few years back when the first Adobe CS suite came out. It's only the diehards who still cling on to quark.