www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Javascript function not getting called

Javascript function not getting called

Hi, I'm new to javascript, and I just wanted to share a problem that I had. It frustrated me for a while, but I eventually solved it. I couldn't find any web pages that mention this problem. Maybe some other javascript newbie will have this same problem, and maybe they'll read this post and it'll help them.

The problem was, I was calling a function and it wasn't getting executed. Here's a simple example that reproduces the problem:

----test.html-----------------
    <html>
    <head>
    <script language="javascript" src="functions.js"></script>
    </head>

<body onLoad=load();>

</body>
    </html>
    ----End of test.html-----------

----functions.js--------------
    function foo1(x,y) {
    z = x+y;
    }

function foo2() {
    foo1(3,,5);
    }

function load() {
    alert("Hello");
    }
    ----end of functions.js------

When test.html is loaded, no alert box pops up. So the load() function isn't getting executed, even though it's being called properly and it has no errors. But the function foo2() has a syntax error, because of the two commas in a row. So when there's a syntax error in ANOTHER function within the same js file, it seems that the entire js file gets ignored. The entire file gets ignored even if that broken function isn't being called. After fixing the syntax error in foo2(), load() can be called and executed with no problem.

Of course, when I encountered this problem, the real code was longer and more complicated than this. So it wasn't easy for me to see that I had a syntax error in one of my functions. I didn't even bother to look in my other functions at first, because I thought that there was some problem with load(), the function that I was actually calling.