www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: help getting website root directory

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898

    help getting website root directory

    I am developing a new site that right now is at http://74.220.207.192/~zluthorg/. When I'm creating links to images/other pages, I can't just use "/" as the website root directory because that goes to http://74.220.207.192, instead of http://74.220.207.192/~zluthorg/. Is there a way to get http://74.220.207.192/~zluthorg/ from a php $_SERVER variable or some other means, so that when the site goes live, I don't have to replace a ton of /~zluthorg/ with just /?

    I hope you can understand what I'm trying to do.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by jrthor2; 02-03-2008 at 12:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    here
    Posts
    4,551
    you could use ./ instead to reference the current dir, that way you don't have to keep adding the path name, but then you run into problems with sub directories...
    dirname($_SERVER['PHP_SELF'])

    should return the path to the current file(eg: /~zluthorg or whatever). but then that doesn't solve your problem completely, since sub dir's will still cause a problem.

    my solution has always been to run a single include in all files carrying several usefull peices of info:
    PHP Code:
    <?
    define
    ('im_path''/~zluthorg/');
    define('inc_path''/home/www/includes/');
    ?>
    then just use it like so:
    PHP Code:
    <img src='<?=im_path;?>my_image.png' />
    If you are using PHP please use the [PHP] and [/PHP] forum tags for highlighting...
    The same applies to HTML and the forums [HTML][/HTML] tags.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898
    so then when the site goes live, the address will be www.zluthorg.com, I just need to change those values to "/" so they point to the web root?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898
    is this correct?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    here
    Posts
    4,551
    well, includes path is what I use for my includes, and tend to point away from accessible files.

    But yeah, you point im_path to '/' when you get your own domain/subdomain.
    If you are using PHP please use the [PHP] and [/PHP] forum tags for highlighting...
    The same applies to HTML and the forums [HTML][/HTML] tags.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898
    yeah, include files I'm good with, it's just links/images that I don't want to have to change all over my site.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles