dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Some users cannot see my video. Why?

Some users cannot see my video. Why?

I am very new to streaming video and I basically just copied and pasted some code from w3schools to my website to make it work. Seems to work just fine on my computer, but I have been getting what I call "error reports" from users on my website who cannot see the video.

Here is the most recent one, and I have no way to test on Vista because I don't have it and cannot at this time afford to buy it. Can someone tell me what is wrong with my video/code that is not allowing it to play for some people.

Name: [Name Withheld]
    Email: [Email Withheld]

Comments: I have windows vista software on my new computer. I also have windows media player 7.0 as your website shows. When I try to watch the DVD I get an 'X' in a box in the top left corner of the window. I have not changed any of the defalt Norton security settings since purchasing the computer. Do you know why I can't see anything. I have a high speed DSL connection and I can see other video.

Browser: Internet Explorer

Version: 7.0

Operating Sytem: Windows Vista

Connection: DSL

URL of the page with an error: http://www.hunt-private-land.com/videos.php?chapter=Intro

Date Submitted: Sunday February 03rd 2008 08:16:02 PM

dude - what did you do to the background graphic? it looks like a halloween site now.

anyway - don't embed a .wmv file in a site - some people use macs and linux - and often these people will not be able to view the video.

you should really consider converting the video to .flv (if you have adobe - Adobe Video Encoder will do it for you, if not i'm sure there's other applications that can convert it.) then get an open source FLV player... i like trent tompkins free player. it was simple to use - and it'll be accessible to 95% of the population*