www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Device::Gsm Perl mod probs

Unhappy Device::Gsm Perl mod probs

Hi,

I'm afraid I am also a bit of a newbie...

I am writing a perl script that recieves the contents of a form using POST, looks at the contents and if a checkbox is ticked it will send an SMS from a mobile phone on ttyS0. I am using Device::Gsm to handle the SMS. I can send an SMS just fine using the example script that came with the module, but when I put the appropriate code in my perl script it does not work...
    Relevant code follows:

Code:
    #! /usr/bin/perl
    use strict;
    use Device::Gsm;
    use CGI qw(:standard);
    use MIME::Lite;  #Script also sends emails

my ($number, $content);

<snip!>
    if ($in{sendsms}) {
         $number = "0421444444";
         $content = "Hello.";
         &send_sms;
         print p("SMS was sent");
    <snip!>

sub send_sms {

my $gsm = Device::Gsm->new ( port => '/dev/ttyS0', pin => '0000');
         $gsm->connect ( baudrate => 57600); #sounds high but is rqd for my mobile to work
         my $ok = $gsm->send_sms(content=>$content, recipient=>$number, class=>'normal');
         return ;
    }
    The script includes a small conditional in the above subroutine that outputs a confirmation message if ($ok) but an error otherwise. When I run the example from the commend line it works ok, but when I run the copied script within my larger perl program it doesn't work and I get the error message.

I can post the whole doc if requires - it's only about 300 lines.

Cheers,

Rohan

You probably don't need to post the entire script, but I am also not entirely clear about what normally would and would not be in your code so I may mention some things that won't apply.

First and foremost, it's good to see you're using strict, but you should enable warnings and taint checks as well.

#!/usr/bin/perl -wT

<snip!>
    if ($in{sendsms}) {
    $number = "0421444444";
    $content = "Hello.";
    &send_sms;
    print p("SMS was sent");