www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Live Streaming Help

Live Streaming Help

So, I've been charged with an interesting task...one which i have never done before so i'm coming to this forum for some help and direction.

What i must do is stream a live feed over the internet, the source being a coaxial cable. This is for a church and they tape their services using an old school video camera that can tape to VHS or output coaxial. I need to pull the feed from that cable and stream it live.

I have no clue as to the hardware (other than, i'm pretty sure i need a TV tuner card), software, or actually how to stream live video...so anything will be of help.

Thanks in advance

Well that certainly sounds like an interesting project. You may find that the equipment you are starting with will be more of a hindrance than a help though. For starters it would be easiest if you had a digital camera, even an inexpensive one can do quite well for Web work. Once you have the camera, you will need to connect the camera to a computer that has encoding software on it. If you are a Windows user, Windows Media Encoder, free from Microsoft is a good choice to start with.
    The computer will have to have a high speed Internet connection (with emphasis on the high UPLOAD speed) to “push” the stream up to an actual “streaming server” if you are really wanting streaming and not just progressive downloading of video files. Once you have the stream sent up to the server, you will have to provide a Web page that will display a video player so that viewers can watch the video over the Internet.
    My advice would be to practice this on a small scale before jumping in too big. Get a digital camera hooked up to a laptop, use a free encoder like Windows Media Encoder, try out a couple of free streaming server Web sites, like streamwebtown.com (or others).