www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: #contentWrapper{ background-image: url(../aboutUs/NewChurch3a.jpg);

#contentWrapper{ background-image: url(../aboutUs/NewChurch3a.jpg);

Greetings.

After trying to figure out the problem with images not displaying (yes the page validates in CSS 2.1 and XHTML 1.0 Transitional), I have decided to poke my eyes out.

When I return I hope someone will tell me what simple mistake I made in my code.

I am a novice programmer. This type of image display is a concept I would like to develop as my image manipulation techniques improve. This is my first large volunteer site. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please see the code below.

<style type="text/css">
    /*Bold Text*/
    b{color: blue;}
    /*Underlined Text*/
    u{color: blue;}
    h2{color: blue;}
    .contentSpacer a:hover {color: blue;}
    #footer a:hover{ color: blue;}
    #hMenu a:hover{color: blue;}
    #contentWrapper{ background-image: url(../aboutUs/NewChurch3a.jpg); background-repeat: no-repeat; }
    </style>

I have tried various forms of the url, with and without quotations, with single quotations, with full web address, partial address (as shown). The image does not display in IE or FF or even Opera. Opera is a bit kooky so I am not looking for perfection there.

Thank you for your time.

As the contents of #contentWrapper are floated, and therefore taken out of the document flow, the height of #contentWrapper is collapsing to zero, and therefore the background will not display. Either don't float #centerColumn or add overflow:hidden; to #contentWrapper to force it to surround floats.

Centauri,

I think I found another solution that worked as well.
    <!-- Page specific style!-->
    <style type="text/css">
    /*Bold Text*/
    b{color: blue;}
    /*Underlined Text*/
    u{color: blue;}
    h2{color: blue;}
    .contentSpacer a:hover {color: blue;}
    #footer a:hover{ color: blue;}
    #hMenu a:hover{color: blue;}