www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Weighing the Facts: Joomla Vs. Drupal

Weighing the Facts: Joomla Vs. Drupal

As I'm just beginning work on a new website, I've been considering the future and whether or not I should convert from Joomla to Drupal as both seem to really lead the industry in terms of actual CMS(where as say, wordpress is more typically blog-style)

I've been using Joomla for the past year or so, as before that I was hand-coding everything.. of course i see CMS as being the next big step of web design.. almost like going to Windows from DOS.

I've spent that past few hours of this morning scouring the internet's articles and forum discussions regarding Joomla Vs. Drupal and my consclusion is that too many of these discussions are simply saturated by opinions that merely resemble facts. What it really seems to come down to is what you really want to expect from your site down the road.

Joomla being said is the quickest, easiest, and neatest.
    Drupal being said is the most stable, most flexible, and secure.

You can find numberous variations of these discussions, but I have yet to be able to make a real final conclusion.

Being careful not to judge by opinions, but rather looking at the facts, what would you say is going to be the best path for a community-driven website with hopes of growing into something very large?

Opinions often being affected by the fact that a person has used one more than the other, therefor they find it easier to use(of course they are more fluent in one than the other)

Also, take into consideration the phase of development. For instance, lets say Drupal is the more idealy structured code, and is more stable.. and lets say that this one fact is the one that puts Drupal in the lead. If this is the case, where do you see Joomla a few years from now? Would it be safe to assume that they are fully aware of their flaws and will soon be everything Drupal is, and more?(yes, straying back to opinions and assumptions now)