www.webdeveloper.com
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    587

    Question What on earth is this?

    Hi,

    Whenever I try to open any website (gmail, hotmail, and anyother) with my FF, I see the following two URLS in my FF status bar:

    Code:
    dt.tongji.cn.yahoo.com
    
    and
    
    ad.5iyy.info

    I even upgraded to FF 3 but still getting those links in my FF status bar.

    What do you think it can be?

    Screenshots
    http://i27.tinypic.com/fxcirm.jpg
    http://i28.tinypic.com/261jb07.jpg




    Thanx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    21,654
    Gathering stats
    At least 98% of internet users' DNA is identical to that of chimpanzees

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    18,049
    I can't find anything conclusive, but the "tongji" thing seems to be showing up in some googling in association with some sort of ad-clicking trojan horse.
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern UK :((
    Posts
    668
    You might just find its an innocent web/ad server ...

    Tonji, i believe is a university in china with a large network that also provides business solutions i believe ....

    Its just like ebaystatic server solutions. Having 2 billions people accessing all content from ebay servers would be prohibitively expensive, so they use another company, Anuki (i think?), among others to deal with image requests, etc etc.

    I dont use gmail but i know on the msn hotmail site, several images and adverts are hosted externally .....

    I really wouldnt worry too much, especially if you've scanned for malware ....
    99 little bugs in the code, 99 bugs in the code, fix one bug, compile it again ... 101 little bugs in the code

    An important petition, regarding your human rights:
    https://www.change.org/en-GB/petitio...r-both-genders

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    1,240
    Quote Originally Posted by wh666-666
    You might just find its an innocent web/ad server ...

    Tonji, i believe is a university in china with a large network that also provides business solutions i believe ....

    Its just like ebaystatic server solutions. Having 2 billions people accessing all content from ebay servers would be prohibitively expensive, so they use another company, Anuki (i think?), among others to deal with image requests, etc etc.

    I dont use gmail but i know on the msn hotmail site, several images and adverts are hosted externally .....

    I really wouldnt worry too much, especially if you've scanned for malware ....
    LOL, Innocent ad server... Sorry, no such thing. These things are annoying and invade your privacy by tracking clicks, planting cookies and other tracking warez, so anything that they load on to your system via your browser in legal terms is an invasion of privacy and illegal.

    In fact, anything that arrives at your PC, pop up or pop under or is loaded onto your PC without your consent, etc is an invasion of your privacy and can be classed as an assault if the warez cause damage.


    (Asked whois.markmonitor.com:43 about yahoo.com)

    MarkMonitor.com -
    Registrant:
    Domain Administrator
    Yahoo! Inc.
    701 First Avenue
    Sunnyvale CA 94089
    US
    domainadmin@yahoo-inc.com
    1.4083493300 Fax: 1.4083493301
    Domain Name: yahoo.com
    Registrar Name: Markmonitor.com
    Registrar Whois: whois.markmonitor.com
    Registrar Homepage: http://www.markmonitor.com
    Administrative Contact:
    Domain Administrator
    Yahoo! Inc.
    701 First Avenue
    Sunnyvale CA 94089
    US
    domainadmin@yahoo-inc.com
    1.4083493300 Fax: 1.4083493301
    Technical Contact Zone Contact:
    Domain Administrator
    Yahoo! Inc.
    701 First Avenue
    Sunnyvale CA 94089
    US
    domainadmin@yahoo-inc.com
    1.4083493300 Fax: 1.4083493301
    Created on..............: 1995-01-18.
    Expires on..............: 2012-01-18.
    Record last updated on..: 2008-04-30.
    Domain servers in listed order:
    ns2.yahoo.com
    ns1.yahoo.com
    ns5.yahoo.com
    ns4.yahoo.com
    ns3.yahoo.com
    MarkMonitor.com - The Leader in Corporate Domain Management
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    For Global Domain Consolidation Research & Intelligence
    and Enterprise DNS go to: www.markmonitor.com
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    --
    which then leads to...

    MarketMonitor
    (Asked whois.markmonitor.com:43 about markmonitor.com)

    MarkMonitor.com -
    Registrant:
    MarkMonitor Inc.
    MarkMonitor Inc.
    391 N Ancestor Pl
    Boise ID 83704
    US
    custserv@markmonitor.com
    1.2083895784 Fax: 1.
    Domain Name: markmonitor.com
    Registrar Name: Markmonitor.com
    Registrar Whois: whois.markmonitor.com
    Registrar Homepage: http://www.markmonitor.com
    Administrative Contact:
    MarkMonitor Inc.
    MarkMonitor Inc.
    391 N Ancestor Pl
    Boise ID 83704
    US
    custserv@markmonitor.com
    1.2083895784 Fax: 1.
    Technical Contact Zone Contact:
    MarkMonitor Inc.
    MarkMonitor Inc.
    391 N Ancestor Pl
    Boise ID 83704
    US
    custserv@markmonitor.com
    1.2083895784 Fax: 1.
    Created on..............: 1999-04-23.
    Expires on..............: 2015-04-22.
    Record last updated on..: 2007-09-04.
    Domain servers in listed order:
    ns3.markmonitor.com
    ns2.markmonitor.com
    ns7.markmonitor.com
    ns1.markmonitor.com
    ns4.markmonitor.com
    ns6.markmonitor.com
    ns5.markmonitor.com
    MarkMonitor.com - The Leader in Corporate Domain Management
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    For Global Domain Consolidation Research & Intelligence
    and Enterprise DNS go to: www.markmonitor.com
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    --
    If your concerned, I would add these URL's to you firewall to block them.
    Yes, I know I'm about as subtle as being hit by a bus..(\\.\ Aug08)
    Yep... I say it like I see it, even if it is like a baseball bat in the nutz... (\\.\ Aug08)
    I want to leave this world the same way I came into it, Screaming, Incontinent & No memory!
    I laughed that hard I burst my colostomy bag... (\\.\ May03)
    Life for some is like a car accident... Mine is like a motorway pile up...

    Problems with Vista? :: Getting Cryptic wid it. :: The 'C' word! :: Whois?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern UK :((
    Posts
    668
    Quote Originally Posted by \\.\ View Post
    LOL, Innocent ad server... Sorry, no such thing. These things are annoying and invade your privacy by tracking clicks, planting cookies and other tracking warez, so anything that they load on to your system via your browser in legal terms is an invasion of privacy and illegal.

    In fact, anything that arrives at your PC, pop up or pop under or is loaded onto your PC without your consent, etc is an invasion of your privacy and can be classed as an assault if the warez cause damage.
    I might class this as perhaps a bit of an extreme reaction, but I respect your opinion and certainly think it's valid as I have seen some invasive ones.

    I find it quite funny that ads track me, as I get some truly bizarre ad suggestions, just because I looked at a hotel somewhere for example.



    Anyway, the reason why I am digging this thread back up is because I would be interested in hearing yours and others opinions, if you should live in the EU, on the cookie law, which now states that sites must get a users permission before serving them cookies?
    99 little bugs in the code, 99 bugs in the code, fix one bug, compile it again ... 101 little bugs in the code

    An important petition, regarding your human rights:
    https://www.change.org/en-GB/petitio...r-both-genders

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles