www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Is this site easy to build?

Is this site easy to build?

www.kiva.org

I want to build a similar website as kiva.org.
    I have already designed all the pages in adobe illustrator.

I'm a designer... I have no knowledge of web development. Can I do it in Ning? or any other DIY Social network builder.

Since you have no knowledge at all about web development I would say it would be difficult for you because there would be a lot to learn.

Thank you Skywalker2208, would it be possible to build it in Ning or other white-label social network platform? or do I need to outsource the job to a pro?

I am not familiar with Ning or and other social network system. I have use Drupal as a CMS, but that is about it. Maybe someone else on here is familiar with Ning.

This may or may not be new to you, but should you ever wonder what the code for a website looks like there is a way to see it. If you are using Firefox you can right-click anywhere on the page and select 'View Page Source'. In IE it's 'View Source'

This is a good way to see how things are being done.

Hope this helps.

thank you bnther, so I could copy paste the code into dreamweaver and then modify it, right?
    I can understand some html, but PHP ...mmm no!
    Is it impossible to learn on my own?

There are some things that you can not just copy and paste. There is some code that is worked out on the server side of things that you will not see on the client side. (Somebody correct if I am wrong but I want to say PHP is one of those languages that you will never see on the client side).