www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Can you have code to load a page at a certain part of the page?

Hybrid View

Smile Can you have code to load a page at a certain part of the page?

Hi, does anyone know whether you can make a page to open at a certain part of the page?

I'm wanting to put the navigation menu (being what I want in the center when page loads) in the middle of quite a large page. The menu items will be anchored to the 4 corners of the large page..

I think it's a new concept, haven't seen it done anywhere.. so not sure if code exists..

I'm a newbie to web development, so any help/feedback would be much appreciated!

Thanks!!

Kim

Hi, You might want to try wrapping your page-center menu in a fragment anchor then add an onload attribute to your body tag to move to the fragment. Something like this...
    HTML Code:
    <body onload="location='index.html#menu_top'">
    <div style="height:2000px;background:red;">content</div>
    <a name="menu_top">Menu</a>
    </body>
    Mike

If the part of your content you want to jump to has an id then just include that after the # on the end of the filename in the link. You can use any id in a web page as an anchor point to jump to.
    Stephen

Quote Originally Posted by k_im_me View Post
    Hi, does anyone know whether you can make a page to open at a certain part of the page?

I'm wanting to put the navigation menu (being what I want in the center when page loads) in the middle of quite a large page. The menu items will be anchored to the 4 corners of the large page..

I think it's a new concept, haven't seen it done anywhere.. so not sure if code exists..

I'm a newbie to web development, so any help/feedback would be much appreciated!

Thanks!!

Kim
    No, it's not new. It's just an anchor tag.

Look at the menu here to see it in action. The gray menu at the top of the page scrolls down to the content. This is done like this:

HTML Code: