dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Apache Port Forwarding

Hybrid View

Apache Port Forwarding

I have recently installed WAMPSERVER on my computer. I have all programs functioning properly and I am trying to allow my apache server to be accessed by outside computers (preferably with username and passwords assigned if possible)

I have done some searching but cannot find a proper way to set up port forwarding on my wireless Linksys router and make sure I do not mess anything up. I have read things about opening PORT 80 but, again I have not read anything about it with clarity. I am new at this

I appreciate any help.

have you tried googling linksys forward port 80?

yes and as i have said i have not received a clear and concise way of addressingt this situation. I do not want to ruin the functionality or security of my router...

You should be able to back up your router before making any changes.

Basically you should be able to find an option to specify a port - port 80 - and be able to specify where (i.e. the IP address of your server) to forward it to.

I'd guess that there will also be a way to reset the router to factory defaults if you really make a mess, but it's unlikely you'll need to go down that route.

i still cant seem to find any way to get this to work. Are there instructions in a forum or any place that can guide me?

All i have gotten up to is in the port forwarding section on my router i have made up a name for the application and for both start and end port I have put in 80. I click enable and save changes but for some reason the changes do not save?

This may seem a silly question, but are you using Firefox?

Some routers only update certain things using Internet Explorer - My 3com router is an example of this.

I am using firefox. However I have also tried it in internet explorer and have received the same issue.