www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Thinking about buying a server

Thinking about buying a server

I am considering buying a server to host some of my websites and for general development and testing. I have experience remotely accessing and maintaining servers, but I have never owned one and I am really just looking to get my hands dirty here.

I have been looking through the classifieds and have found a few Dell Poweredge 1750's for under $150. Does any one have any experience with these or have any other recommendations? I don't need the top of the line here, so older technology will do.

Here is a total noob question, but do I need to have a RAID?

For development and testing buying a real server is overkill, buy a cheap PC, install gentoo or some other linux distro on it, and use that.

The fact is for what you want it for much of the server will be wasted, and I doubt very much you will need raid, as long as you keep a back up as you work then the loss from a hard drive failure doesn't come close to the cost and effort of setting it up.
    If you are using PHP please use the [PHP] and [/PHP] forum tags for highlighting...
    The same applies to HTML and the forums [HTML][/HTML] tags.

I had thought about buying a cheap PC, but then I found a few used servers for around $150, so I thought I would give one of those a try.

You are definitely right that a server is totally overkill for what I am doing, but I figure as long as I keep it under $200 I'll get my moneys worth.

I have been reading some review of the Dell 1750's and they seem pretty solid.

I do have a 9 year old Vaio desktop. I can't remember the exact specs, but I didn't think it would be enough to run as a server.