www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: graphic resolution

Hybrid View

graphic resolution

-I'm kind of new to web design, so if this is a stupid question, i apologize.
    I used screen grabber to save a frame from an mpeg. The mpeg quality is not all that great. But, when i use this jpeg as a background for the website on my computer the image looks crisp and good. My computer is a 99 emachine with a high color (16 bit) color resolution. When i view the web page on newer computers with better resolution the picture looks like crap. Is there any way i can incorporate an important command to override the users color resolution to default to a high color (16 bit) when they view this site?
    thanks for any help

Re: graphic resolution

Originally posted by jwsg922
    [BIs there any way i can incorporate an important command to override the users color resolution to default to a high color (16 bit) when they view this site?[/B]
    I believe the answer to your question is No. I don't understand why you would get a good quality image from a poor-quality original source on a lesser-quality display. Generally, the lower your resolution, the worse an image is going to look. What does your jpeg look like in a dedicated graphic viewer program?

i opened the image using paint becuase my computer doesn't have adobe. the picture looked allright in paint and on the web page, from my computer. I think the reason why it looks allright is becuase my computer has lower resolution therefore it shows the image in fewer colors, but a higher resolution computer shows grey pixeled halo's in areas that are just black on my computer. These grey blotches are unsightly and disruptive to the black and white image my contact wants. I would convert to a black and white image but the image also has red in it. i figured it was a shot in the dark but thanks for the help.

I've decided to demand a comission from Adobe.