www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Old-Fashioned Webmistress + WYSIWYG Editors + DIV creation = ???

Old-Fashioned Webmistress + WYSIWYG Editors + DIV creation = ???

Hello. =)

I was wondering: is there an HTML editor that can create this layout (and other similar layouts) in WYSIWYG format, and by using DIVs?

I'm a complete beginner with HTML editors, but I'm intermediate with actual HTML code. For several years, I've been creating webpages by hand, WITHOUT using an HTML editor. That means I use my prior knowledge, type the code into NotePad, and then physically open/check/edit/refresh my pages as I go.

Since I know a lot of code (and my typing speed is 65 words per minute), I always figured this method was faster (and less frustrating) than using an editor and going to File -> Edit -> Insert -> Table -> 4 Rows, 3 Columns.

However, building pages by hand has a lot of negatives: I can't easily detect mistakes/typos; it gets very tiring; etc. So I really NEED to learn how to use HTML editors, and I want to start with something basic.

When I say "basic", I want something that will allow me to create DIVs, iFrames, etc. -- in WYSIWYG format. I've used the following free HTML editors, and none of them let me make DIVs in WYSIWYG format:

• CoffeeCup HTML Editor
    • Kompozer
    • PageBreeze
    • Microsoft FrontPage 2003
    • Amaya
    • NotePad++ (as a side note, this program has so many options, I got confused/frustrated)

I've been using tables to make my layouts for years, but I heard that's "incorrect" so I'm starting to use DIVs now. But, I'm still new to DIVs -- which means they really confuse me and I HATE THEM (? - why are there are SO MANY "float:" and "position:" rules?!! And unlike tables, DIVs don't automatically match the width of the text inside them! By default, DIVs stretch and fit the entire page width! AND, DIVs aren't any smaller than tables!!!).