www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Include php file from another server

Include php file from another server

Hiya,

I've been working on a simple cms of sorts only to be hit by a fairly large problem. I've been working on the basis that I would be able to reference php files on a single server from any other server using a simple line such as

PHP Code:
    include("http://www.mydomain.com/template.php"); 
    however it seems this is not as easy as it seems, due to security measures taken by many hosting companies to prevent php access to outside files, resulting in the warning

"Warning: include() [function.include]: URL file-access is disabled in the server configuration in www.mydomain.com/user/htdocs/index.php on line 7"

Having done a bit of research I came across the potential solution of adding the following line to my code

PHP Code:
    ini_set('allow_url_fopen''On'); 
    However this hasn't worked either.

I am quite new to php, so my knwoledge isn't particularly extensive. I'm assuming I won't be able to make this work, so I guess what I really want to know is, is there an alternative to the "include()" php function that might work for me?

allow_url_fopen and allow_url_include cannot be changed at run-time. If they could, it would pretty much negate the security function such a restriction has. (The issue here is that including something from a remote server can have extremely serious security problems if you do not have 100% control/confidence in the code being included from that server.) Additionally, if you include a .php file from a remote server and that server processes it locally as PHP, all your including file will receive is the output of that script, not the source code as you would when including a file from the local file system.