www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to stream multiple live videos?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13

    How to stream multiple live videos?

    Hi,

    I'm currently using Windows Media Encoder 9 for streaming through StreamWebTown - https://www.streamwebtown.com/index.php# (a windows streaming server for WME)

    Just an additional information for people who wants to have a free trial, StreamWebTown does provide a free account under some limitations (works well)

    So here's my question:
    1) How to stream multiple videos with WME and embed onto my website?
    - as in how to configure WME to catch several videos at the same time?
    - how to embed several videos on website to catch videos from several webcam?

    This is my current embed code to catch live stream from my webcam.
    Port is set to 8080.
    Code:
    <!-- EMBED for Internet Explorer-->
    <OBJECT id='mediaPlayer' width="320" height="240"
    classid='CLSID:22d6f312-b0f6-11d0-94ab-0080c74c7e95'
    codebase='http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/mplayer/en/nsmp2inf.cab#Version=5,1,52,701'
    standby='Loading Microsoft Windows Media Player components...' type='application/x-oleobject'>
    <param name='http://streamwebtown.com/8080' value="http://streamwebtown.com/8080">
    <param name='animationatStart' value='true'>
    <param name='transparentatStart' value='true'>
    <param name='autoStart' value="true">
    <param name='showControls' value="true">
    <param name='loop' value="false">
     <!--EMBED for Mozilla-->
    <EMBED type='application/x-mplayer2'
    pluginspage='http://microsoft.com/windows/mediaplayer/en/download/'
    id='mediaPlayer' name='mediaPlayer' displaysize='4' autosize='-1'
    bgcolor='darkblue' showcontrols="true" showtracker='-1'
    showdisplay='0' showstatusbar='-1' videoborder3d='-1' width="320" height="240"
    src="http://streamwebtown.com/8080" autostart="true" designtimesp='5311' loop="false">
    </EMBED>
    </OBJECT>
    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13
    >.< pls don suggest me another software and tell me its solution. WME allows multiple video streaming and it is also powerful too.
    I only need to know how to put up several broadcasting videos onto my website and configuration for WME if possibble.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13
    How do i embed several live broadcast videos onto website?
    and Flash Media Server needs payment for the service, I'm doing this for my school project, so not really looking for a server which needs to be paid >.<

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NW Washington State
    Posts
    1,856
    I understand your frustration with the spamming that poses as posts here. It comes from a couple of companies and I think it does more harm than good to their products.
    Now back to your questions.
    To place this discussion in context, I am assuming that you are attempting to stream live events rather than prerecorded, is that correct?
    First, as far as I know, WME will only encode the stream from one camera at a time. To encode a multiple camera shoot requires a video switcher or mixer. Even then, the stream will have just one publishing point and the end viewer would only be able to access that one stream (which you are switching from one cam to another).
    http://www.videomaker.com/article/12581/
    If you are intending to encode from several cams at the same time (and using an individual publishing point for each) you could try to run multiple instance of WME on your machine at the same time or use several laptops each running there own version.
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...on129121120120
    This is all assuming you are encoding all the streams from one location and not several independent sites. If that’s the case, you’ll need a version of WME running at each site.
    WME does allow for the insertion of prerecorded video into the stream. This can be used to place an intro before the event and ads or other messaged during a lull in the action. It can also be used to place prerecorded interviews etc. into the stream. When configuring WME for the event, use “mix of live and prerecorded files” and “add source” files. This will allow you to switch to the prerecorded file in real time and back to the live event.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...t/default.aspx
    As for the viewer end, allowing the end user to switch from one stream to another….. hummm not sure how to do that with just the Windows Media Player for playback. Each stream will have it’s own publishing point which needs to be hard wired into the Web page code so to use just one player for playback… just not sure. You could always have a separate html page for each steam and just link back and forth. Or if you just want one page / one player, maybe your best bet is to dig deep into the WME help files or WMP help files. My guess is that it’s fairly complicated. You’ll need to have buttons or something available to the end used to allow switching streams. Google around for WMP playlists and perhaps you can adapt something.
    I’ve used streamwebtown.com also and found the learning experience great but the viewing experience less than satisfactory. Too many times the service dropped off… but the service was free. So… in my opinion, a great way to learn but don’t count on perfect service, for that you’ll need to pay.
    Here is a company that I use and highly recommend
    http://www.upstreamnetworks.com/home...live-streaming
    They also have some good help pages you might want to check out. In addition, to provide a better streaming experience they stream using mms not http. as in
    Code:
    <param name="URL" value="mms://live.upstreamnetworks.com/16636-40369">
    Since this is a school project I just wanted to give you a few different solutions to check out.
    If you do get all this figured out, I would appreciate if you share the solution with us.
    Best wishes,
    Eye for Video
    www.cidigitalmedia.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13
    thank you so much for this helpful reply!
    I will certainly try it out and reply with the best solution I get =)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thank you all very much for all the suggested solutions.
    I got my problem resolved simply by running several instances of WME 9.0 pointing to different port.
    Just hope this post will be able to help other people with the same issue =D

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Smile Multiple Instances of Windows Microsoft Encoder 9

    Hi There,

    I know this thread is old but does anyone know how exactly to run multiple instances of WME9 to encode more than one live feed? I have four feeds and need them streamed in media players on our site to display 4 separate live workstation feeds from our base location to our website. Like a security channel so we can monitor all streams from the web.

    It sounds like Yuehyih got it to work but I need the detailed "idiot's guide" step by step directions... Please?

    Thanks! Chris
    [
    Edit by admin: no contact info permitted on the forum, thank you

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles