www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: I need my .png fix for IE6 to work with my "smooth scroller"

Hybrid View

Question I need my .png fix for IE6 to work with my "smooth scroller"

Hello,

This is my first time here--if I break any rules, I apologize.

I have a site, http://www.camaraphotography.com that renders correctly in every browser except IE6 (shocking, right?).

I have it almost working correctly in IE6, but have run into a few problems and I think it has to do with the the 2 different .js files. I do not code javascript, but can usually troubleshoot the scripts I find. This one has me stumped.

Background:

I have 2 .js files. One for a smooth horizontal scroll with arrows (anchor links), instead of just "jumping" to the link or using the bottom scroller. (js/thw.js)

The other is for a .png hack so the images are transparent in IE6. (js/pngfix.js)

IE6 Issues:

If you view the site in IE6, you will see that the 2 arrows at the end of the navigation are not transparent, and the navigation is not working--it jumps to the section instead of smoothly scrolling to it.

The background in the "About Dave" section is also not transparent.

If I remove the line for the png hack:

Code:
    <!--[if lt IE 7.]>
    <script defer type="text/javascript" src="js/pngfix.js"></script>
    <![endif]-->
    I have no transparency, but the page smoothly scrolls and the arrows work. Take a look in IE6: http://camaraphotography.com/index-no-png.html

I'd really like to have it all in IE6, since there are still people using this browser. Is there a solution to my problem?

I can attach files, and/or copy and paste the code here if that is preferable.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Melissa

Oh man, is it that tough, or did I post my inquiry incorrectly? If there is anyone out there with some advice I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Melissa

Eureka??? Maybe??