www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: In over my head

In over my head

Hi all. I am new to this developer stuff. How new? So new I'm not even sure I'm dangerous yet. So...

In laymans terms... Here's what I would like to do:

I have a very basic server which is really ancillary to the main server we use for the main web site. Before you ask... Yes I'm paying for it... long story short... I paid the money, now I have to justify it.

So, since we run a hunting web site, we would like for our members to have the ability to upload their raw data for editing by yours truly. I hate it when they send me their data on a CD or DVD because I run into encoding issues and blah blah blah blah.

My plan was to somehow create a page, similar to you tube but without all the conversion stuff, then I can load it from my editing PC straight to our Primary website.

What I don't understand is the coding that will allow minimal and controlled access to a specific file of my choosing on this server. Once they have completed their end of the upload, I DO NOT want to allow them access to the other files for download.

Is there anything I can do to create this that doesn't involve a masters in Programming?

Thanks in advance for any assitance all.

ttt

Well breaking your project down into sections might be helpful.
    we would like for our members to have the ability to upload their raw data
    Raw video files can be HUGE and may be a problem for uploading. For example, 5 minutes of raw, standard def video shot in mini-DV format will be about 1 GB, HD could be 3 to 4 times larger. That will take a heck of a long time for them to upload, then for you to download again (could be done but plan for spending lots of time transferring files).
    for editing by yours truly. I hate it when they send me their data on a CD or DVD because I run into encoding issues