www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Newbie question about forms

Hybrid View

Newbie question about forms

Ok, very beginner question. I am a designer and therefore know little about the CGI world. I have a client who would like a simple form to be emailed to her upon hitting the submit button. They currently have an existing web site and just want me to add this one page. I also have web space as a "reseller". My question: What type of script should I get and where should I put it. On their hosting place although I know nothing of it's capabilities, or mine or what? I've tried to research but can't come up with the simple answers I know are out there. What questions do I need to get answered by my hosting company or theirs etc.? Thanks for any help.
    Greatfully yours,
    slurpeegirl

Ask you hosting company if they support Perl. If so, you will need the path to the perl interpreter, and the path to sendmail.

Here is an example of both:

usr/bin/perl
    usr/bin/sendmail

Then you will need a form handler script. You can find them at http://cgi.resourceindex.com

If they don't support Perl, ask about PHP...

Thank you. I will try that today.

I'm a newbie too. More a designer than a developer. I've been asking around re how to activate the submit button on my site. Some people say I should use ASP, others say I should use a CGI script. Can anyone enlighten me further?!?

Kissies

Originally posted by geek_grrrl
    I've been asking around re how to activate the submit button on my site.
    What exactly are you trying to do?

I'm trying - by hook or by crook - to get the data in the form on this page - http://www.jetsupport.com.au/origina.../bookings.html into an email that turns up in my client's email box.