www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: mod_rewrite in .htaccess is giving me a fight

mod_rewrite in .htaccess is giving me a fight

Hi I've got some problems getting my mod_rewrite to work in .htaccess. I'm trying to rewrite my dynamic URLs to more presentable links. Parts of it work but not as a whole. I have no experience of it before so I've used bits of code from tutorials and there is probably a more effective way of writing it.

Anyway here is the problem. I have three levels of variables that govern the dynamic URLs, for instance

1. I could have a link to the Services section:
    HTML Code:
    www.myurl.com/index.php?mainSection=Services
    and want to change it to: www.myurl.com/Services

2. I could have a link to the Downloads within the Services section:
    HTML Code:
    www.myurl.com/index.php?mainSection=Services&subSection=Downloads
    and want to change it to: www.myurl.com/Services/Downloads
    3. I could have a link to the PDFs within Downloads within the Services section:
    HTML Code:
    www.myurl.com/index.php?mainSection=Services&subSection=Downloads&subsubSection=PDFs
    and want to change it to: www.myurl.com/Services/Downloads/PDFs
    And here is my .htaccess to make the above work

Code:
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /

#RULE 1: this rule should handle the link to services
    RewriteRule ^([^/\.]+)/?$ index.php?mainSection=$1 [L]

#RULE 2: this rule should handle the link to downloads within services
    rewriterule ^([^-]+)/([^&/]+) /index.php?mainSection=$1&subSection=$2 [L]

#RULE 3: this rule should handle the link to PDFs within downloads within services
    rewriterule ^([^-]+)/([^&/]+)/([^?\&/]+) /index.php?mainSection=$1&subSection=$2&subsubSection=$3 [L]

</IfModule>
    The problems that I've got is rules 1 and 2 work but rule 3 doesn't work and only works if I remove Rule 2.