www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [RESOLVED] 2 separate domains on 1 web host server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Niagara Falls, Canada
    Posts
    348

    resolved [RESOLVED] 2 separate domains on 1 web host server

    Let's say my domain name is fictionalname.com and I want to add a 2nd domain called examplename.com Is this possible to do on 1 web host server? I know I can set up "add-on" domains, but that still uses my original domain name as part of the URL (example: http://fictionalname/examplename.com) I want them to be separate like: http://fictionalname.com and http://examplename.com Can this be done with one webhost plan?

    Thanks.
    Last edited by Captainkewl; 07-30-2009 at 09:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    6,275
    That depends entirely on the host, some hosts only let you host one domain, this allows them to charge extra to host more domains.

    Other hosts, like mine, allow you to host as many domains as you like.
    Every fight is a food fight when you’re a cannibal.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    7
    Hi ,

    I found that the best company to do this is UK2.net on their business hosting plan they allow you to host around 10 additional domains. How it works is that they give you a public HTML folder which the additional domains sit, To get this facility you need to park the domain through the Control Panel.

    The biggest problem with UK2 is that they do not give you DNS access so if you wanted to host your emails through say google they charge you £15 for the DNS management tool.

    People like Godaddy do not charge, Something to consider.

    One last thing you may have to buy an additional set of IP's so that your name servers are unique.

    The best way and probably easiest way would be to get a dedicated plan and try and sell the unused space if you can.

    Could some one clarify my answer please.

    I hope this answer's your questions.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Niagara Falls, Canada
    Posts
    348
    Thanks for the replies

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    6,275
    Quote Originally Posted by Obayesshelton View Post
    One last thing you may have to buy an additional set of IP's so that your name servers are unique.

    The best way and probably easiest way would be to get a dedicated plan and try and sell the unused space if you can.
    Web hosts will usually have several name servers, but at least two, and these will handle basically all the domains they host.

    Name servers are something you do not need to setup yourself. Dedicated hosting is also not required, for example I'm on a regular shared hosting plan at Dreamhost, and I'm hosting 4 domains and 13 sub-domains.
    Every fight is a food fight when you’re a cannibal.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Niagara Falls, Canada
    Posts
    348
    Hey David, so how did you do this? You have 4 separate domains on the same hosting plan?? So you have for example: http://site-a.com AND http://site-b.com?? So your saying they are not "add on" domains, they are stand alone unique domains?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    6,275
    Yeah, I have one domain "anotherdomain.com" which used to be configured to mirror my main domain "domain.com" but now is set to redirect to it. I also have a two more domains on there as a courtesy for other people which are their own sites, though one seems to have expired now as they didn't renew it.

    I also have several subdomains, for myself and others, which if I wanted I could use to host totally separate sites, but I just use mine as an easy way to send people moderately large files usually.

    My host has a unique web panel, so simply telling you how I set it up on mine won't help you with other hosts. However, since you have presumably already added the first domain to your account, if your host allows multiple domains, then in theory you should go about it the same way when adding your second domain.

    If you can't figure out how to do that, then fire off an email to their support and they should tell you exactly how to do it (assuming it can be done).
    Every fight is a food fight when you’re a cannibal.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Niagara Falls, Canada
    Posts
    348
    Okay, thanks for the info David.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles